h1

Intensive Therapy – “The Doctor Is In”

April 16, 2015

Intensive Therapy by Jeffrey Deitz

Intensive

This is a long, complex book. It starts with multiple characters over multiple years. At the heart are patient/physician relationships.

I was intrigued because I discovered Freud in college and the book highlights interactions we tend to overlook in treatment.

I like the short chapters and the juxtaposition of past and present (though at first I found this difficult to keep straight). But life goes on and from pages 150 to 200 this book gets really intense.

The last 150 pages bring the conflict to the present and do a pretty good job of explaining the consequences. We come full circle.

The author’s credibility is beyond question and he is unquestionably dealing with a subject that is important to him.

There are times (a final interchange between the brothers) that really got me thinking, as no other recent book has, and I felt I learned something about my own daughter and being a father. But the title is bad and this is a long journey not right for everyone. Real answers never are easy.

4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

