h1

Windy City Blues – “My Kind of Town”

November 24, 2014

Windy City

Windy City Blues, Marc Krulewitch

I grew up on the North side of Chicago so many of the locations, even street names, bring back a flood of memories.

And about half way through this book, I thought the author had an interesting theme—family (in the Georgian tradition) versus nepotism (“Chicago corruption, “The City that works”). This is embodied in the central character, Tamar, a Russian who works at a bakery and a private detective who is investigating the murder of a guy who issued parking tickets. The father of the PI had been to jail.

To be honest I was distracted by too many characters, too much reaching for meaning, too little of the anguish felt by the young couple with such different backgrounds. Oh, it comes around toward the conclusion, but by then I had expected much more. I’m glad the detective, Jules Landau, reconnects with his aging father,  that the Georgian woman isn’t killed and becomes his girlfriend, but what about me? What about Chicago? I care too much to just read “The End.”

3 out of 5_edited-1

Leave a Reply

