h1

The Moving Target – “Keep on Going”

March 27, 2014

 

51RMSRR2UWL__SL500_AA300_

The Moving Target

by Ross MacDonald

Paperback:  256 pages

Publisher: Vintage; Reprint edition (March 3, 1998)

$11.52 on Amazon, less for Kindle (Click: The Moving Target)

I like the California settings (back-handed compliment)—there are too many forgettable characters, a meandering plot and the narrator, Lew Archer, lacks back story. One problem with large print books is that they end up about 400 pages long. My interest started to lag around 200.

Sure this is a tough-guy saga, but I’m not tough. I need someone to relate to or someone I want to be. I was curious about the missing man; his schitzo daughter presents some romantic twists and turns; and there are phrases of good writing worth dog-earing pages for; but the resolution is: “I just don’t care anymore and make the culprit the least probable character and get over it.”

As for me reading more MacDonald books, I think, I’ll write a poem instead.

Leave a Reply

