h1

The Care and Feeding of Exotic Pets – “Who’s Feeding Who, What”

January 4, 2014

120px-Iguana_iguana_ZOO_Chleby

The Care and Feeding of Exotic Pets

by Diana Wagman

Ig Publishing, $15.95

Did you ever read a book about a character you don’t like and over the course of the story you find yourself empathizing with him or her. Well this one has four hate-worthy people—a kidnapper, the annoying mother he kidnaps, her self-centered ex-husband and finally the snotty daughter the kidnapper is infatuated with. Oh yes, he has an eight-foot iguana living in his kitchen.

I had to ask myself why I was reading this (a book the local library was throwing away). I guess the answer was, I had no idea where this story was going and I wanted to find out. We do come to understand and appreciate each of the four and maybe how easy our own lives are by comparison.

But to be honest I couldn’t wait to be done and discard the book myself. It certainly was different. At least that’s what I thought as I dumped it into the garbage can.

2 out of 5_edited-1

Leave a Reply

