h1

Murder in the South of France – “Perfect Airplane Reading”

October 31, 2013

71TcWTxkmcL._SL1303_
Murder in the South of France  

Susan Kiernan-Lewis, 20101, 368 pages

San Marco Press, $9.38 Paperback

This is an intriguing book for less than obvious reasons, but a perfect way to kick off a series. I was attracted to it because, well it was free on Kindle and, and, and I have been an advertising copywriter myself (like Maggie Newberry the narrator).

But here’s what I didn’t expect the family is told her sister is dead, but she later turns up in the States only to be murdered. As a reader, I learn something from the first bit of news that later, like Maggie, I will experience. Also the narrator realizes that she’s 32 years old and still hasn’t found “the one.”

When she does, the handsome, Laurent Dernier, a nefarious Frenchman is connected to the events leading to the murder.

Too often today, we are given one-dimensional characters. I didn’t get as much Southern France as I expected, but what I did get were people with real, internal mystery that made me turn the page. And…look forward to more of in this series.

4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

