h1

A Death on the Wolf – “Growing Up Together”

September 20, 2013

images

A Death on the Wolf

by G. M. Frazier

Epica Books, 2011

paperback, $13.95

350 pages

Buy directly from Amazon, for $11.69.  Click: A Death On The Wolf

I enjoyed Death on the Wolf. It is nostalgia, but with enough fresh surprises to keep a reader on the edge of his or her seat (the young male narrator falls in love with a blind orphan, his best friend turns out to be gay).  Even the title and the first line, which seem contrived, expand the books meaning at the conclusion. 

What I liked most was that this made me examine my own attitude toward my brother and toward my mother and father and the friends I had while growing up. And, of course, memories of the Studebaker Hawk.

What I didn’t like was the use of hurricane alerts in Part 4. “Camille” does bring events to a head, but this just seemed like a lazy way to do it (one, I admit, I might have used. 

Well constructed, good detail, real dilemma, all the pieces ultimately fit. It kept me reading.

4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

