h1

The Passion Promise – “What’s the Point!”

June 12, 2013

Passion Test Cover

The Passion Promise 

by Janet Bray Attwood & Chris Attwood

Hudson Street Press, 295 pages, $16

Why is it that we are suspicious of books by people who put on motivational workshops? I listened to Tony Roberts’ tapes, did the exercises, sang his praise to friends. Five years later, I can’t remember a thing I learned there.

So now I skip over things I don’t believe will have lasting value for me (and believe me, as I get older I need “lasting value”). I like the idea of defining what we feel passionate about and building our lives around that rather than seeking substantiation for the “loser” label society so freely distributes.

But this book takes that one step further by stating: “Your life is created first in your mind, then in the world.” In other words we need to, not only identify these passions, but remind ourselves daily so they become habit rather than unrealistic, long-term goals.

That’s the origin of my new screen saver. And when I internalize these, maybe I’ll read the rest of the book. But probably not!

4 out of 5

Order directly from Amazon for $12. Click: The Passion Test: The Effortless Path to Discovering Your Life Purpose

Leave a Reply

