h1

ALL STORMS PASS – “The Problem Is Not Really the Problem”

February 2, 2012

All Storms Pass by Luke Benoit, 2011

Createspace, 638 pages, $21.95

It will seem hard not to come across as making fun of this book. The author is a “certified” life coach, hypnotist, and advocates something called “anti-meditation.” And, for a reviewer in Wisconsin, when someone talks about “surfing past your emotions” and “checking the cheap drama at the door,” he knows Benoit is living in California.

Read all at once, these little one-page fortune cookies seem disposable, but wait… There are two players here, the author and the reader. And as a reader, thinking about one or two of these a day, I found I could provide my own context to each and come away with something meaningful. Sometimes dark, sometimes insightful these “All Storms Pass” allows us to consider the choices that make us who we are.

Ultimately, I am happy to have the book in my hands for what is going on in my life right now. And the right reader, at the right time and place will also feel this way. But that reader needs to be of an accepting mind.

We all accept or reject truth differently. Here’s my poem on the subject:

Eating Truth

Each of my dogs swallows truth differently. Old

Flaubert, with caution, pawing at it first, before

he takes a bite. Gatsby gulps all that’s offered

then spits out what he doesn’t want. And Kafka,

who’s part wolf, will only eat when no other dogs

are in the room.  Sometimes this means he gets

merely what is left. Or is finding truth rejecting

what others will accept?

To buy directly from Amazon for $21.95, click: All Storms Pass: the Anti-Meditations

3 comments

  1. Here’s a different view, on this book, my review on Amazon:

    5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect compass to guide you towards a peaceful and happy life, February 17, 2012

    By JLK (In your computer) – See all my reviews
    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: All Storms Pass: the Anti-Meditations (Paperback)

    All Storms Pass: the Anti-Meditations

    I LOVE this book!

    Although I always have dozens of books on my “want to read” list, I’ve not only read this one once, but it’s so valuable to me I’m re-reading it. I’m really picky about meditation books, the market seems pretty bloated for such tomes, however this book is a daily motivator. I received a Kindle for Christmas, and I’ve been enjoying this book on a daily basis. It’s my very FIRST Kindle book; first purchased, first that I’ve read. What a wonderful choice I made! Everyone needs a bit of help from day to day to have the strength to navigate this challenging world – Trust me, if you want to purchase one book today, this would be a wonderful choice. All Storms Pass by Luke Benoit will quickly become a loyal tool for assistance navigating today’s turbulent waters.

    All Storms Pass: the Anti-Meditations

    Buy it; read it, it’s worth it.


    • I have been reading a few pages of this every day and applying it to my life. I have to say, it works. When I first got the book I tried to go through the whold thing and respond. That was a mistake. It may work for other types of books but it doesn’t for this one. It has proved very useful when read day by day. John


  2. Me again – I just noticed the tagline, “Making Books Fun Again”; is that sarcastic? Perhaps you should use the tag – “Making Fun of Books Again”.



Leave a Reply

