h1

PRETTY GOOD JOKE BOOK – “Here They Come, Radio on or Not.”

July 2, 2011

Pretty Good Joke Book: 5th Edition

Keillor’s Pretty Good Joke Book

by Garrison Keillor

High Bridge, 2011, 5th Edition

$12.95, 400 pages

There’s a reason good sales people are good joke tellers. As Keillor points out in the introduction to this book, “It’s a way to get to know people in a short time.” And how do you review a joke book? You don’t. Readers want some examples and if they don’t laugh, forget it.  If they do it’s A Pretty Good Joke Book.

  1. “Veni, Vidi, Velcro”—I came, I saw, I stuck around.
  2. If a cow laughed, would milk come out of her nose?
  3. Did you hear about the dyslexic devil worshipper? He sold his soul to Santa.
  4. What’s big and gray and wrote gloomy poetry? T.S. Elephant
  5. How much do pirates pay for their earrings? A buccaneer.
  6. What’s Irish and sits outside? Patio Furniture.
  7. The lawyer sent a note to a client: “Dear Jim: Thought I saw you on the street the other day. Crossed over to say hello, but it wasn’t you, so I went back. One-tenth of an hour: $25.
  8. Patient: Doctor, you’ve got to help me. Some mornings I wake up and think I’m Donald Duck, other mornings I think I’m Mickey Mouse. Doctor: Hmm, and how long have you been having these Disney spells?
  9. Question: What goes clomp, clomp, clomp, bang, bang, clomp, clomp, clomp. Answer: An Amish drive-by shooting.
  10. There was a man who entered a pun contest. He sent in ten different puns, in the hope that at least one of the puns would win. Unfortunately, no pun in ten did.

Order direct from amazon for only $10.36. Click:   Pretty Good Joke Book: 5th Edition

One comment

  1. Apathy, I can take it or leave it.



Leave a Reply

